Why Listing Your Items on eBay Should Be 1 of The Deadly Sins

If your one of the millions of people that have sold something on eBay, listing that product might of been easy and pleasant. Odds are it took you a few minutes to take the picture and write a description. But imagine doing that for twenty, thirty or heck maybe even a hundred in one sitting. That would probably drive me nuts. It took me half a day to post a mere 15 coffee mugs on eBay. And I have about 20 to go. Doing the first few drove me nuts. While doing that today, I have found some things to save time on posting the items.

That’s when I decided to make a post on how to save you a little time while listing your items for eBay.

Although there are a few extra coffee mugs in my basement and my room, these are the most of my coffee mugs. There are about 25 mugs in the basket and on the side.
Although there are a few extra coffee mugs in my basement and my room, these are the most of my coffee mugs. There are about 25 mugs in the basket and on the side.
Tip #1

If you’re listing a lot of similar items, for example, coffee mugs, I have realized making a basic description in Google Docs and pasting it in every listing and changing a few words really nice. It helped save me boat loads of time writing out a description that I have been almost rewriting for a lot of posts.

tip #2

If your item has a UPC or ISBN code, try starting with that. It mainly works for books. The nice thing about using these is that eBay already has a pre-filled out description for books and DVDs. So alls you have to do is simply type in the code, choose if you want to charge for shipping and hit publish.

tip #3

Use turbo lister.

I haven’t really used it yet, but I’ve heard it’s a really nice tool for listing a lot of items. Here are the system requirements needed to download:

  • Microsoft Windows 2000, XP, Vista, 7
  • Pentium II and above
  • At least 250 MB free disk space, more than 500 MB recommended
  • RAM: 128 MB, more than 256 MB recommended
  • Internet Explorer v5.5 or later installed

Just click here to go to eBay and download if you wish.

tip #4

Use keywords to your advantage.

This doesn’t mean using a lot of pointless words at the end of your listing. Bidders or potential customers really don’t like keyword spamming. It’s like me using a lot of pointless keywords to draw attention to this post. The words old, vintage and sexy are great ways to bring visitors to your item. If there relevant, use them!

tip #4

Write an About Me page. People love a great story. Especially about other people. So maybe share to the world about how you got started on eBay. For me, it was simply selling stuff I did not need at home. Mainly clothes. And to be honest, if I knew what I know now about selling, I would have made a whole lot more. But, mistakes are here for a reason, and that is to learn from them! Regardless if I didn’t make a lot

tip #5

Be seasonal

You might hate the holidays, but some people go crazy about them. And them going crazy, means $$$ for you. Try and get creative here. Maybe do a sale on certain colored items, like red and green ones. You should include your sales in your newsletter to really promote your products! It helps a lot!

tip #6

Know the power of the newsletter.

It lets you announce the current and future sales you will be having.

tip #7

Know how much it will cost you in fees

Stay away from even price items like $10. Price it for $9.95 instead. Not only will it save you money in fees, but it looks cheaper than $10. That’s why brick and mortar stores do it. If you are doing an auction, try and stay away from starting at .99 cents. A lot of people think an item is not of quality if you’re starting it at say,$4.99.

tip #8

Find your niche, and stick to it

Right now, I am focusing on coffee mugs Not only can you find them cheaply at a thrift shop, I feel as if there easy to learn which ones sell and which ones don’t. Also, stick to what you know. My dad owns his own shop, and I’ve worked for him while I was too young to apply anywhere else, and I have to say I have learned a lot more about engines, and how that stuff works. I wasn’t turning wrenches. But just being around that stuff really made me think about how that stuff worked.

Also, I have an interest in gardening and experience in working at a greenhouse and a truck farmer.

tip #9

Communication is key!

Get those invoices out right after your auction ends. If it’s at some odd hour of the day, schedule your next auction at a time that works the best for you. Make sure you’re message is both positive and friendly. Answer questions, thoroughly, and fast. If you have not been using the Click N’ Ship feature, use it! It’s through the USPS, and provides tracking numbers for all items shipped, aside from media mail (correct me if I’m wrong please!) Tracking is an additional 23 cents as of right now. Trust me, it’s worth that extra 23 cents. People love knowing when and where their package is. People can also sign up for both email and text alerts.

tip #10

Accepting Paypal

If you’re not on PayPal already, get on it. Paypal is the most popular way to transfer money on eBay. It’s actually owned by eBay, but I believe they are looking to sell it. PayPal isn’t the only service to transfer funds between you and the buyer, just the most popular one. There are a few others, but I do not know them off the top of my head.

tip #11

Check out your competition

The feeling of selling an expensive item online knowing you probably could have gotten a decent amount more is stomach churning. At least for me. The best way to check out how much your item is selling for is by checking the “Sold Items” box. Personally, I like to be right down the middle on my items, not the most expensive, but not the cheapest.

That’s all for now! I’ll make a part two post because I have a lot of more tips to give you, so be sure to follow my blog!

Leave a comment