Some Ways to Become the Macgyver of Amazon FBA

I bet most of you have not heard of FBA. Don’t worry, not a lot of people have. Fulfillment By Amazon (FBA) is such a great tool for people looking to sell online. While I am just starting out, I decided to make a list of the pros and cons of FBA. But before I do that, I’ll explain how it works so you get a better understanding of it.

Deciding what you want to sell

If I got a dime for every time this question was asked, I’d be filthy stinkin’ rich.  But I suggest try sending in a few books to FBA. Books are relatively cheap to send in. And UPS offers deep discounts for people purchasing shipping labels through Amazon. I sent in a box that weighed about 35 pounds for about $8. Those were all books too. That’s about 23 cents a pound. You really can’t beat that.

On top of that, books really have nice profit margins. And you can find them for sale anywhere for dirt cheap. There’s a book sale that’s about 20 miles away from where  I live that ends tomorrow. And there offering $5 for a bags full of books.

Another item that has sold well for me are games. More so small games, like Uno, or Left Right Center. You can find these anywhere. There also really small too, so if they sit for a while, they won’t be racking up the storage fees.

Sending your Inventory in

Amazon has a lot of warehouses in the U.S. alone.  Their biggest warehouse is located in Arizona, and it is 1.2 million square feet. One of Amazons many warehouses

The average Amazon worker on average walks about 10 miles in a shift.

Most of my books that I’ve sent in went to one warehouse. Earlier today, I printed off labels for my products and labeled them up. After that, I progressed onto the next page where I prepare the shipment. And with a grand total of about 15 items, there going to 3 different warehouses Amazon does this really where the product is most popular so it can get shipped out as fast as possible. So if product X is popular around the Phoneix area, then that’s most likely where you would be sending that product too.

This will be part 1 of a 2 part, possibly 3 part series, so follow this blog to keep updated!

Leave a Reply

