Reasons You Should Be Talking About Sourcing Roadtrips for Summertime

Summertime is here, and that means great weather. Great weather here in Southeastern Wisconsin only comes for about 4 months a year, then it gets cold. Really cold. So it’s important for everyone that lives in the Midwest to enjoy every second of it. And that is exactly what I plan on doing next weekend by taking a sourcing road trip.

I just booked my hotel room up in Green Bay, Wisconsin for about $90 for next weekend (July 10th, 2015) until the 11th of July. For the whole ride up there my long life friend, Mike, will be coming with. I plan on showing him how to the whole process so I (and himself) can really make some serious cash. We will be splitting the profits 50/50 and will be doing 50/50 of the work, but I’ll be 100% in charge of the decisions on what to purchase, and what to do. And I’ll be sure to watch him like a hawk so he knows what exactly he is doing.

Sourcing

We will be stopping at about 6 Goodwills on the way up, if time and budget permits. And we’re going to be sourcing for primarily what I sell on Amazon FBA, books and we will keep an eye out for new games for Q4.

Although our main reason for this road trip isn’t sourcing, it’s really to go cliff jumping and enjoy the heck out of summer while it lasts, sourcing played a pretty big role in deciding on Sturgeon Bay as our destination for cliff jumping. I looked up some pictures on Google, and it looks stunning up there! I’ll be sure to take lots and lots of pictures to share!

Tax Deductions

If you have not known that you can deduct 57.5 cents for every mile drive for business related reasons (ex. driving 10 miles both ways to a Goodwill, you can deduct $5.75 from your taxes at the end of 2015.)

Now, you may be wondering if you need a business license to be able to do that. Please, correct me if I am wrong (I work with a student who is going to school to be an accountant and he has some experience working for a tax company,) I asked him, and he said that you do not need one. You just need to keep good records of your receipts to show that you have traveled to the store.

Update on sales, etc are doing

I’ve been doing a lot of sourcing over the past few weeks. I try and get 100 books every week, and then send them out the following Monday. And I’ve been doing pretty good on staying on top of that. One thing I’ve noticed is the more books you have in your inventory, the better your sales are. But that can be used for practically anything.

Books just take a little longer than other items, but there anywhere. So far I have about 450 books in my inventory, and I am selling about 25-35 a week. I plan on hitting over 1000 before the end of summer.

Other than that, I think this wraps up this post! I’ll be sure to keep everyone updated on how the road trip is going!

Are you planning on any road trips this summer? If so, drop a comment below, I’d love to know where you’re going! And if you’re doing any kind of sourcing!!!

Leave a Reply

